The Student Room Group

Paths other than PGCE?

I have a degree in Education and English. I've just turned 31 and I think I've finally realised/come to terms with the fact that pursing/doing a PGCE just isn't for me. I think I've been so hyper focused on the idea of doing it that I never stopped to ask myself, do I actually want to teach? The answer is no. I think this is why I've struggled every year trying to do a personal statement. It's hard to write a personal statement, it's harder when you actually don't want to do the thing you're trying to apply for. Don't get me wrong, I love English and I do love working with kids. I never loved my course though. Just never knew what I wanted to do and didn't want to quit and be a failure. I'm just wondering what other paths people may have taken after deciding not to do a PGCE?
When you say that you've never loved your course, do you mean your English degree, or a PGCE that you started and then left? What jobs have you been doing since you graduated?

There are many careers other than teaching that involve working with children, but it's difficult to make suggestions without knowing a bit more about you and your interests.
Reply 2
Original post by SophiaAlexx