The Student Room Group

PGCE Blues - Think I made a mistake applying?

I’ve been reading a couple ‘PGCE horror story’ threads on here and now I’m in a sixth week I just wanted to share mine. Except… it’s not my mentor, or my tutor… it’s me, hi, I’m the problem it’s me :P

Basically applying for a PGCE was a stupid decision on my part for two big reasons:

I’m 21 and have ZERO teaching experience, or real world experience in general. I graduated from uni and was on this course a month later. A lot of the other teachers at my placement have this very ‘aw dear’ tone in their voice when they talk to me because they think I’m immature, timid and out-of-my-depth. I don’t even blame them because they are 100% right.

I’ve had diagnosed depression/social anxiety since when I was in secondary school myself. I don’t take meds, seen my fair share of therapists (who are a waste of time imo) and it’s a constant struggle to get basic **** done. The first four weeks of my PGCE I was overconfident and really enjoying myself, feeling like I was nailing the role. Week 5 I was told in no less than three separate meetings I was way, way behind all the other trainees and got put down to doing just halves of lessons. They said it’s because I had obvious confidence issues which threw me for a loop because I was at *max* confidence trying to overcompensate for my anxiety.

I took it a bit personally and it’s triggered this depressive phase for the last two weeks where I’ve shut down massively and don’t really care. This isn’t unique to the PGCE at all and I am not blaming my mentor/tutor etc. for this.

I contemplate quitting (the PGCE and life in general) multiple times a day and I just feel so lost on what I want to do with myself. Maybe I should just get a repetitive desk job where I can hide behind a cubicle all day and the workload can actually be completed during work hours and not on my weekends.