The Student Room Group

Shall I do Further Maths A-Level?

Hi. I am in Year 13. And I am currently studying Maths, Biology, and Chemistry, hopefully wanting to get three A*s. I was doing Further Maths A-Level last year, so I have covered all the A-Level Maths content. But I dropped it solely because I thought I was going to do dentistry. But now, I want to do a maths degree. I have spoke about the possibility of taking up Further Maths A-Level again. They said it was possible, but I have missed 24 lessons so it might be hard to catch up. I want to do it, but I don't want it affecting my other A-Levels. So, I'm not sure. What do you think?
Sorry you've not had any responses about this. :frown: Are you sure you've posted in the right place? :smile: Here's a link to our subject forum which should help get you more responses if you post there. :redface:
Original post by Zara10
Hi. I am in Year 13. And I am currently studying Maths, Biology, and Chemistry, hopefully wanting to get three A*s. I was doing Further Maths A-Level last year, so I have covered all the A-Level Maths content. But I dropped it solely because I thought I was going to do dentistry. But now, I want to do a maths degree. I have spoke about the possibility of taking up Further Maths A-Level again. They said it was possible, but I have missed 24 lessons so it might be hard to catch up. I want to do it, but I don't want it affecting my other A-Levels. So, I'm not sure. What do you think?

If you want to do a maths degree, then a-level further maths would deffo be useful. Double check maths courses on unis websites to be sure.
If you want to do it and enjoy maths, and you think you can catch up, then go for it.
Original post by Zara10