The Student Room Group

is it normal to not have a specific friend group at this point in uni?

I know its silly because ive moved in on Sunday but I still feel like I havent found 'my group' of people.
like I go clubbing with my flatmates and theyre super nice, but I wouldnt consider them friends. and ig im just scared I wont make friends
Reply 1
I am in second-year and my friendship group was created during seminars, so I think it takes some time to have friends. There are many societies/clubs that you can attend.
Original post by Anonymous
I know its silly because ive moved in on Sunday but I still feel like I havent found 'my group' of people.
like I go clubbing with my flatmates and theyre super nice, but I wouldnt consider them friends. and ig im just scared I wont make friends

I feel you! I’m in second year now and I wasn’t particularly close with any of my flatmates last year. I did meet some people through my uni’s official freshers chat but my friend group are people who are in my course/similar modules!! And even if you end up not finding your group of people it’s ok uni is temporary not forever
Reply 3

It's not even been a week, so don't worry! Took me a few months to find some people to sit next to in lectures, then only really in second year started to get a bit closer to people.
Do you do any sports/are you thinking of joining a club? Or a society? They're good ways to meet others with similar interests, and you're doing something fun as well :smile:

Hi Anon,

It is normal to feel this way, but don't worry too much! As you said, you moved in on Sunday, so it is still super early in the year. It may take time for you to find your 'group' of people, which is totally normal.