The Student Room Group

What should my 5 options be?

I’m studying Maths, Physics and CTEC IT, and I’m predicted A*A*Distinction*. I want to study physics and I’m thinking of applying to Oxford, Liverpool, Sheffield, Manchester, York and Lancaster. I’ve been to all the open days and like all of them. What would be my best 5 options? Are there any other universities I should consider?
Unfortunately, an application to Oxford with only 2 A-Levels and a CTEC may make your application less competitive, especially without Further Maths. Are you sure it's not too late to self-teach Further Maths (or add it if you are in Year 12)
Reply 2
Original post by mattjh-
I’m studying Maths, Physics and CTEC IT, and I’m predicted A*A*Distinction*. I want to study physics and I’m thinking of applying to Oxford, Liverpool, Sheffield, Manchester, York and Lancaster. I’ve been to all the open days and like all of them. What would be my best 5 options? Are there any other universities I should consider?

The best way to pick your universities, have two ideal universities, two realistic universities and one back-up. I think it's also about picking what sort of city you'd like to live in.
Original post by mattjh-

For Oxford, you will need to take the Physics Assessment Test (PAT). The deadline for doing so was yesterday. Have you registered for this?
Reply 4
Honestly - you are aiming too high by including Oxford, you don't have a prayer without 3 A levels.
Original post by mattjh-

I go to Lancaster and am really enjoying it. In addition, since their grade requirements are AADistinction, if you got an offer there you could still be able to get in even if you missed your predicted grades.

-Kao
(edited 6 months ago)
Reply 6
Original post by Lancaster Student Ambassador
I go to Lancaster and am really enjoying it. In addition, since their grade requirements are AADistinction, if you got an offer there you could still be able to get in even if you missed your predicted grades.