The Student Room Group

Retraining in Psychology

I graduated with a BSc (hons) not in Psychology, went on to complete my PGCE and have since taught as a Maths teacher for 9 years with a specific interest in SEND.

For a variety of reasons, I’m wanting to retrain, and psychology is something I keep coming back to.

Typical teacher, EdPsych looks right up my street, but I recognise it’s extremely competitive. But when I look at other careers relating to psychology I’m a bit overwhelmed and confused as to what leads to where and which accreditation is needed!

Is there a course I can do that would keep my options open in terms of EdPsych or maybe clinical? And/or is there a website/book that I could look at?

Also, if anyone has retrained in psychology, first hand experiences would be very welcome :smile:
If you don't have a psychology degree, you'll have to do a conversion course - it will give you the option of going for any of the standard practitioner psychologist courses, including Ed psych
Original post by Googly32
I graduated with a BSc (hons) not in Psychology, went on to complete my PGCE and have since taught as a Maths teacher for 9 years with a specific interest in SEND.

For a variety of reasons, I’m wanting to retrain, and psychology is something I keep coming back to.

Typical teacher, EdPsych looks right up my street, but I recognise it’s extremely competitive. But when I look at other careers relating to psychology I’m a bit overwhelmed and confused as to what leads to where and which accreditation is needed!

Is there a course I can do that would keep my options open in terms of EdPsych or maybe clinical? And/or is there a website/book that I could look at?

Also, if anyone has retrained in psychology, first hand experiences would be very welcome :smile:

@Googly32
We seem to have been in a near identical situation, I've worked in education for nearly 11 years teaching and doing student support.