The Student Room Group

Miserable on my PGCE course and don’t know what to do.

I graduated from my undergraduate degree this year, and went straight from that onto my PGCE course except I feel like I’ve made a mistake, I’d convinced myself I should teach secondary, and I’m five weeks into my course, and after spending a week doing a placement in a primary school, I absolutely adored it and had an amazing time, but now I’m in my secondary school placement, I’m only the third day into it and I feel miserable. The atmosphere is so dreary and I just feel so emotionally disconnected from everything.

The simplest solution would be to transfer to a primary school course, except, I’ve heard you can’t really do that for PGCE, you’d have to drop out and join next year, but I don’t really want to do that because it’d mean wasting a year, on top of that there are lots of other things going on. Financially, I have the benefit of a bursary, and I’m also an alumni so I get a discount. I also don’t know if I should make such a big decision when I only spent a week in a primary school, I don’t know what I’ll do if I got sick of teaching small children, and the lesson planning styles are completely different. But, at the same time, if things don’t improve I’d just be making myself miserable. Even if I continue on this course and apply to work in a primary school when I graduate and get in, I don’t want to keep feeling this way for several more months.

It doesn’t help that my course is really strict, I’ve asked around from other teachers on and off the course, as well as others and they all seem to agree, but I also don’t know if I transfer to another university, if I’ll end up with an equally strict course, and what I’m experiencing is just a “rite of passage” everyone has to go through.