The Student Room Group

How do I deal with this situation

Am I being unreasonable to not want the whole college to know about this relationship/affair? I’ll try to explain the situation as best as I can. I’m a 19 year old (male), I ended up in a sort of relationship/affair with a senior teacher at a primary school in the same academy trust that my college (I’m a a student at the college) is part of. It was an affair for her (the senior primary school teacher) as she’s married. We both met (we didn’t meet each other through the fact that I was a student at the college though) earlier this year (I was a student at the college at the time that we met but we didn’t meet each other through the college or through the fact that I was a student as the college). We we’re both going through a very difficult/stressful time, we ended up going on a night out with each other and getting very drunk and we ended up sleeping with each that night and then from there the relationship/affair just kept on getting bigger and bigger and more and more often. We’ve now had many nights out and sleep with each other many times as well. By “senior teacher”, I mean a member of SLT.

Now someone has contacted us saying they have a video of us both out drinking and kissing and will share our affair/relationship around the college as rumour unless we give them money. the senior teacher thinks we should go to the police because it’s blackmail but I’m worried it could make the person more angry and then more likely start the rumour/share the video.

Am I being unreasonable for not wanting the whole the college to know? We both never wanted anyone to know and now this person is threatening to spread it around the whole the college. I’m worried if they spread the video or start a rumour that everyone will be talking about when I’m in college and trying to ask me about it and I don’t want that to happen. It was just a way to help us both get through a stressful time but it got out of hand.