The Student Room Group

Veterinary science - University of Bristol

Wondering if anyone is in a similar situation? I’m a mature student 25f, single with two children. I’ve received an offer to study Veterinary science at Bristol uni which will require relocating. Looking at what people are doing regarding location etc or even if there is anyone else facing similar obstacles!
Also, say hello if you’re also an offer holder of any situation :smile:
Reply 2
Original post by alexaaj
Wondering if anyone is in a similar situation? I’m a mature student 25f, single with two children. I’ve received an offer to study Veterinary science at Bristol uni which will require relocating. Looking at what people are doing regarding location etc or even if there is anyone else facing similar obstacles!

Hi

Congratulations on your offer !
I’m a bit more mature (41! 🤦*♀️) and have three children 19, 10 and 9.
I’ve just started at the RVC and finished my first term.I can’t lie it’s tough and requires a lot of organisation and discipline. My first exam had me in tears but you know what , the extra wait I’ve had to be able to do this, my kids and my age is pushing me through.
Not sure about Bristol but at the RVC there are some compulsory attendance requirements elements but I’d say 70% you can watch the lecture recordings at home if need be. This has been a god send for me if I’ve had to be home to collect the children for example, as it’s a 1.5-2 hours each way commute to London for me. This is without even talking to the uni about it so if you were struggling I’m sure they would try and help too.
If you want it, go for it! I know it’s going to be hard work but I’ve got support at home and know it will be worth it in then end
Good luck x
Reply 3
Original post by alexaaj

Hi, Congratulations on your offer! 🙂