The Student Room Group

Bebras Oxford University Coding Challenge Looking for Tips

So I'm going to do the coding challenge for OUCC, and this is my first time, what kind of preperation do you suggest me to do in terms with python, I've tried some of the programming questions from past years but there's not a lot, and for some of the questions I get stuck and can't find answers to it.
Anyone able to help?
Reply 2
The Perse Team Challenge past papers are of similar style. I might be able to help with any questions you’re stuck on.
Original post by iohcareh
The Perse Team Challenge past papers are of similar style. I might be able to help with any questions you’re stuck on.

Yeah I did one of the senior challenges and was able to get 59/65 within the 40 mins [albeit i did need to get a bit of help for 1 or 2 of the questions], the last question I did run out of time to do, but I don't think I'd be able to easily complete it.
Reply 4
Original post by UndecisiveBoy
Yeah I did one of the senior challenges and was able to get 59/65 within the 40 mins [albeit i did need to get a bit of help for 1 or 2 of the questions], the last question I did run out of time to do, but I don't think I'd be able to easily complete it.

Well done! Hopefully your speed will improve over time.
Well done! Hopefully your speed will improve over time.

Thanks! Yeah me too, but I'm pretty sure most of the question 10s are mainly the more difficult ones that take up more time. And an issue with many of the excercises is that I'm probably writing code quite inefficiently, [even if its right], so I do need to look over some python techniques ig.
Reply 6
Original post by UndecisiveBoy
Thanks! Yeah me too, but I'm pretty sure most of the question 10s are mainly the more difficult ones that take up more time. And an issue with many of the excercises is that I'm probably writing code quite inefficiently, [even if its right], so I do need to look over some python techniques ig.