The Student Room Group

Intellectual Property Law

Hello. I am currently an undergraduate student studying BSc (Hons) Mathematics. Ultimately I've been opting for computing-related modules throughout my degree and I planned to then hopefully pursue a technology-related masters.

However, over the past year, I seem to have changed my mind for several reasons. I realised that my goals aligned more with becoming a lawyer. After thoroughly researching the different paths a lawyer can take, I understand that my mathematics degree may be 'undesirable'. But having said that, I still want to see if there is a possibility of making it into IP as a patent attorney.

From what I've seen, having a STEM-related background is highly sought after in Intellectual Property Law, that being technical degrees in areas where patents can be taken; such as Engineering, Chemistry, Physics... etc - and not Mathematics.

Having considered all this, do you think it is still worth it for me to follow the path of becoming a lawyer? Should I continue on with a conversion course or is a degree in Mathematics just generally useless for IP, hence I should stick to my initial path in technology.

Any opinions, ideas or experiences will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!
Original post by intelli
Hello. I am currently an undergraduate student studying BSc (Hons) Mathematics. Ultimately I've been opting for computing-related modules throughout my degree and I planned to then hopefully pursue a technology-related masters.

However, over the past year, I seem to have changed my mind for several reasons. I realised that my goals aligned more with becoming a lawyer. After thoroughly researching the different paths a lawyer can take, I understand that my mathematics degree may be 'undesirable'. But having said that, I still want to see if there is a possibility of making it into IP as a patent attorney.