The Student Room Group

Accomodations

Where does one live in 2nd year? I’m a law student at the Uni of Nottingham but I’ve found most people to have come with their friend groups so it’s been hard to meet new people let alone anyone to live with. Do most second year students live off campus?
Hi there,

Some universities offer student accommodation to all students, whereas others offer student rooms only to 1st year students.

Reach out to your university's accommodation services and ask whether it would be possible for a 2nd year to live in student halls. Or if they help students look for private accommodation.

If not, there are numerous FaceBook groups or websites like SpareRoom, OpenRent or Ideal Flatmate, where numerous students are looking for available rooms or other students to live with them.

I hope I managed to help!

Best of luck,
Melanie
LSBU Rep
Original post by rgdack
Where does one live in 2nd year? I’m a law student at the Uni of Nottingham but I’ve found most people to have come with their friend groups so it’s been hard to meet new people let alone anyone to live with. Do most second year students live off campus?

Hi,

Generally, most do live off campus but it's not unusual to stay on campus especially if you like it! I'd say your options are:

Get in contact with your university accommodation team and ask about staying where you are for another year, you may be put with people in second year and above doing the same thing or you may be with people in their first year. If you have a preference about this then that'd be a good thing to ask.

Go for private student accommodation where you will have a private room and ensuite and share a kitchen.

Rent with friends (honestly if you start bringing it up to people on your course you'll probably find people to share with, I'm sure a lot of people are in the same situation but too scared to ask)

Or you can rent by yourself