The Student Room Group

Stuck on final A-level choice

Hi there! I'm a GCSE student in my final year and I'm heavily thinking about my A-level options due to how conflicted I am with what my third choice will be. I have decided that I will definitely do psychology and chemistry, but my last choice could be one of the following:
English literature
Sociology
Criminology
Biology
Criminology is what I originally wanted to go for, but I've heard that it's generally not as respected as other subjects. Sociology would be good, but I'm not as certain on it. English literature is good to keep my options open, but I don't enjoy it, and I find it tedious to remember a lot of different texts and remember them, what they suggest, their methods, etc. (I would do English Language, but with the way my school has set it out, English clashes with psychology, meaning their lessons overlap. Therefore, I chose psychology over it due to my big desire to do psychology as a degree). I love the anatomical parts of biology, but I hate doing the parts related to botany. I'm much more interested in how we work as humans, whether that's physically, mentally or socially, and I'm even more intrigued by how we have developed over time. I'm very conflicted, and I really don't know what to do. Any advice is appreciated. Thank you. :smile:
hey ! if you don’t love english lit i wouldn’t take it because from what i’ve heard from friends, you need a passion to be able to cope with how much content there is and it’s such a big jump from a level . i’d say biology would be good for a psychology degree however it’s not necessary . i take biology and it definitely is very content heavy so if you have the sciency subjects already i wouldn’t worry about needing to take it . as for the others , sociology would fit well with psychology however if you find that you think you’d prefer criminology more ( even though it’s not deemed as super academic ) i think that would fit in too . good luck : )