The Student Room Group

Wearing glasses - a disability?

(Title not intended to belittle serious disabilities btw) I've been wearing glasses for so long (ten years now) that its only now that I've come to realise just how much of an inconvenience they are, and how limiting they are to your everyday life.

I'm blind without mine, and its a little disconcerting thinking that without this plastic and metal contraption attached to my face all day I'd have no chance of survival. :p: Yet they are such a hassle, never being able to see in the shower, trying to get clothes on whilst your still wearing them, having to go swimming blind, doing anything active. And even after 10 years, many styles, and numerous adjustments I still haven't found a pair I can truly forget I'm wearing.

And the social side of it too, the stigma. People see you have glasses and immediately assume you are intelligent, may be a benefit for some but when you are thick like me its just embarassing. Or the assumption that you must be reserved, an introvert, bookish, shy and retiring etc etc.

Short of contact lenses, which I find an even bigger hassle overall than glasses to be honest, the only real option is laser vision. Its just a shame that its so expensive, and you have to wait till a quarter way through your life till you get it.

Anywhoos, just wanted to vent my frustration. Any sympathy from fellow "sufferers" appreciated. :p:

Scroll to see replies

I'm the same, and yeah it sucks, but life's a *****.
Reply 2
It's not a disability.
Walking in the pouring rain is the worst. :no:

Tbh, aside from the above and it being uncomfortable lying on my side to read while I have them on, mine really really don't bother me. I wear mine all the time, go running with them on and I never even think about it... I don't notice them. I also think I'd look weird without them.
Why do you find contact lenses such a hassle? Mine make me feel like I have always had perfect vision!
Reply 5
Oladz