The Student Room Group

Does education hinder creativity?

This time last year I was begenning to feel that university was effecting my creativity as my ideas seemed less raw and I was doing everything by the book. This meant that I had ran out of new ideas and everything I was doing was pretty much the same.

Now I am in my second year and my creativity has increased a lot again because we have been taught how do to things the proper way and also new ways of doing things. This means that any idea I have I can do apply.

Therefore I don't think eduucation does hinder creativity I think it is just an excuse used by none graduates. Although it has to be said a lot of well respected people have said that educationd does mar creativity.

Any thoughts?
Reply 1
Well it is often said that Leonardo da Vinci ( the greatest genius of all time) was so good precisely because he looked at problems in a new way, instead of through the framework of conventional thinking. He claimed to have learnt most of his ideas of from nature (e.g. spinning leaf thingy - helicopter etc).

It makes you wonder sometimes why we bother with education! I suppose it's to help those of us who need a little more help than Leonardo. And it humanities subjects you kind of have to know all the conventional arguments on a topic otherwise you'l probably just spew bullshit. But in science, certainly, I think there is a case for more "natural learning".
Reply 2
Depends on so many things, but a formal education can hinder creativity.

Certainly at secondary school, at alevel its a little better, I can talk to other students and teachers, bit more freedom. Its said you always remember a good teacher, from secondary school its as true that I remember the bad ones.

Like what Wilde said, nothing that is worth learning can be taught. I suppose that supports what other chap said about Da Vinci. College (and hopefully uni too) gives you the time and resources to learn stuff for yourself.
Reply 3