The Student Room Group

Written work

Hey, I'm a bit stuck on what kind of written work to submit to Oxford. I've already emailed them, but they were really vague and didn't give me much help. :frown:

I'm applying for French and Philosophy, and I'm required to submit two pieces - at least one in French, and the other can be in English.

I was thinking about submitting one essay on the set text I'm studying (Bonjour Tristesse), and another essay on religious language.
Do you think that's suitable?

For those who have been required to submit written work - did you prepare something especially for Oxford, although they ask of you not to? I seem to get the impression everyone makes a special effort on written work and pass it off as their usual standard... I doubt I have enough time to perfect my essay so I'm just considering submitting essays completed as part of homeworks. Will I be at any disadvantage? :confused:

Any help would be very much appreciated.
Reply 1
Heya
Yes some people do write stuff specially. I've a friend here doing French and German and he wrote a totally new essay about a book or a play or something... possibly Brecht even though he wasn't supposed to, and said it had been an idea for coursework. That said the other lings i know tended not to have done, but then said friend hadn't studied literature at that point and wanted to write something on literature. I wouldn't say you'd be at a massive disadvantage but at least try to polish something
Essays on texts are a good idea. I'm not entirely sure by what you mean about religous language?
Reply 2