The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
TheWolf
Im not sure how much everyone knows about all these different titles Doctor..etc.

Can everybody get a title, and how do you get it? Do you need to do a specific course and if you do e.g. economics, can you get a 'doctor' title?

:cool:

If you do a PhD, in any subject, you are entitled to call yourself Dr. Medics only have to do bachelors' degrees to get that honour though (MB BChir)
Reply 2
Helenia
If you do a PhD, in any subject, you are entitled to call yourself Dr. Medics only have to do bachelors' degrees to get that honour though (MB BChir)

ahh ok thanks! so lets say i do 3 years of economics and have finished the a ba economics, do i have a choice to do a phd course afterwards? :confused:
Reply 3
TheWolf
ahh ok thanks! so lets say i do 3 years of economics and have finished the a ba economics, do i have a choice to do a phd course afterwards? :confused:

Most good universities will run PhD courses, or you can switch unis.
Reply 4
TheWolf

A PHD isn't a course, it is research. You basicaly spend 3-5 years researching somthing in depth nobody else has done. Then the university can decide to pass it, you will get your phd.
Reply 5
amazingtrade
A PHD isn't a course, it is research. You basicaly spend 3-5 years researching somthing in depth nobody else has done. Then the university can decide to pass it, you will get your phd.

ahh ok didnt know this thanks, so it is 3 years of university + 3-5 years in research? wow
Reply 6
amazingtrade

Edit - but yes you can do a PHD after your degree if you get a 2:1.
Reply 7
amazingtrade