The Student Room Group

Dropping out of Oxford?

Okay basically I'm in a bit of a pickle, seems stupid posting on here for advice, but it seems like a good way of finding people who are or have been in the same situation in the past.

So I'm just over half way through my first term at Oxford uni, I'm studying Chemistry and I'm really not enjoying it. I don't feel like I'm the right sort of person to be here, I can't cope with just working all day every day (obviously do have some breaks but this is what it feels like), it's driving me crazy being sat at my desk spending hours trying to do work that I don't understand. I've been to all my lectures, but it's got to the point where I don't actually understand them any more, I don't understand any of the suggested books either because they're all degree level and I just can't get my head around them, they seem to explain everything in such a confusing way. I also don't enjoy the tutorials, they make me very anxious and I feel like I'm constantly being humiliated as everyone else seems so much better! The other people on my course seem to be loving it, and understand the work, but I feel like I'm doing it just to get it done, and not enjoying it at all. I rely on others to explain everything to me, and when I say everything I mean literally everything, and I feel absolutely stupid compared to my peers. I don't have time to go over lecture notes or look for explanations online, because I have so much work to do, so it seems like I have no control over my work and what's going on etc