The Student Room Group

Barely mature student in need of help & advice (also posted in mature students)

Hi guys! Let me just preface this post by giving a bit of backstory and how I got into my current situation. I graduated college ~2 years ago (I'm 20 at the moment) with AAA in English, History and Drama. Went on to study History at university, ended up leaving during 2nd term last February after discovering it was not for me and I didn't want to continue doing History. I felt pressured to apply early to university because of my high predicted grades rather than think about what I really love and want to do with my life; I ended up just doing what I did at college, and I made a very bad decision as I only chose my A levels based on what I thought would be easy and fairly interesting rather than what would ultimately satisfy me academically. I have an A in GCSE Physics, B in GCSE Maths (although I could've very easily gotten an A looking back, I was lazy), A in GCSE Psychology etc.

I have spent the past year working for my stepdad at a care home, full-time since August. I have had a lot of time to figure out what I truly want to do with my life and after about a year of solid thought I've decided I want to pursue Computer Science. I love and have a passion for computers, having built my own and spent many thousands upon thousands of hours playing video games and have recently began to learn how to program (Python at the moment, early days). I have also developed a retrospective respect and interest in Mathematics; I found Maths to be fun and engaging at every level of my education but did not take it to A level due to trepidation regarding the workload.