The Student Room Group
Students relax outside, University of Surrey
University of Surrey
Guildford

MA Interpreting

Hello!

Is anyone set to study in the MA Interpreting programme for September 2014/15? I'm an international student and would love to meet some fellow classmates if any of you are on here! My languages are English and French :biggrin:
ma business with interpreting here :tongue:
Students relax outside, University of Surrey
University of Surrey
Guildford
Reply 2
Well, I may soon be joining you there....I just got an email from the school that they are canceling my programme (ma interpreting) due to lack of participants, so they are offering me a spot in the ma in business translation with interpreting if I want it, or I can withdraw from the school.

I'm international so it's too late to apply anywhere else, and from what I can see, I can actually manage to take MOST of the same classes through the MA Business with Interpreting (5 out of 7) so I think I will be staying with Surrey and switching over, but I'm so shocked that I'm just now receiving the email 6 weeks before I'm meant to be moving over!
Yeah MA Interpreting and MA BTI share similar courses so don't worry. It's funny because i'm still waiting to get a confirmation for my language pair (Greek-English) in Business Translation with Interpreting! They told me that they're trying to run as many language pairs as possible and they'll know in mid-August (!) ... if the course doesn't run in my language pair, i'll probably join MA translation.
Reply 4
Yeah, they never gave me any reason to believe that my pair would have any issues, so I was surprised, but oh well! I'm glad the programmes are so closely related, and I guess gaining some skills in translation can't hurt :P Fingers crossed that your pair has enough participants!
You said in the other thread that you received your rooming placement as well; where are you going to be staying?
Thank you!