The Student Room Group
Carr Saunders Halls, LSE
London School of Economics
London

Are my grades good enough for Bsc Economics at LSE

hello,

I'm a year 13 student and would benefit from some advice on the LSE application procedure as their website isn't very good at it. I achieved 6A*s 3As 2 Bs and 3 distinctions (A*s in a computer science course) at a below average performing school. Do LSE look at GCSE scores compared to your schools average GCSE score?

At AS I have got 4 As, i took Maths, Further Maths, Economics, Chemistry and Physics
my ums are as follows:

Maths and Further: A
C1: 98/100
C2: 100/100
C3: 100/100
M1: 95/100
FP1: 80/100 :frown: retaking
S1: 78/100 :frown:

Econ: A
Micro: 90/100
Macro: 94/100

Chem: A
paper1: 78/90
paper2: 132/150
coursework: 48/60

Phys: A
paper1: 59/90 --> hahahaa
paper2: 130/150
coursework: 54/60

I would like to know do LSE ask for UMS for every applicant and if so will it be module wise? Also are my ums on the lower side of applicants and would it be better to apply to Maths and Economics at LSE? I know LSE place strong emphasis on Personal statement, for the Maths and Economics do they want a ps balanced so you talk about econ and maths half and half?

Sorry for this essay of a question but would appreciate if at least some of my doubts were cleared :smile:

Regards,
Rahul

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
hi there, I personally didn't get good GCSE's but went to LSE. I think that your GCSE's are really good and meet LSE's general criteria.
Carr Saunders Halls, LSE
London School of Economics
London
Yes, my BF didn't do as well in his GCSE's as you did, but did well in his A-levels and got into LSE>
Original post by RahulJAG
hello,