The Student Room Group

Halls or private housing as a nursing student?

Hi!

I'll hopefully be doing nursing as a second degree at the age of 24 in September.

KCL and Kingston are the uni's I'm hoping to get offers from (grad entry for KCL and UG for Kingston) - but I'm now starting to think of where to live?

I'll be turning 25 in my first year wherever I end up, and while I'm not a proper 'mature student' - and people don't believe my age ☺️ - I'm not sure if I can do halls a second time around (messy kitchen, halls drama etc).

Basically I'd like to hear from anyone who has been or who is in a similar situation! I'm tempted to go into a private house share, but halls could be ok for a year to get to know fellow student nurses? Help! 😁 x
Reply 1
I'm 31, and will be 32 if I get a place this September. I'm not even contemplating halls, as it sounds like overpriced hell to me. However, I think my position on halls would depend on whether the uni puts all the nursing students in one hall or not. I think living with a lot of others going through the same heavy workload would be more acceptable than being the only student nurse in a flat of 8.
[QUOTE=HFBS;62722885]I'm 31, and will be 32 if I get a place this September. I'm not even contemplating halls, as it sounds like overpriced hell to me. However, I think my position on halls would depend on whether the uni puts all the nursing students in one hall or not. I think living with a lot of others going through the same heavy workload would be more acceptable than being the only student nurse in a flat of 8.

Thanks for your reply! With KCL, they don't seem to have exclusive nursing student housing and the accommodation they do have is SO expensive (I know it's London, but come on 😕). Kingston on the other hand do have flats that are just for nursing students - which is ideal and not bad priced at all!

Any other KCL or London-based nursing students around? Would be great to hear what you do/plan to do!