The Student Room Group

University is pointless, You know it, your wasting your life?

My baddd
(edited 4 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Just because you think it is pointless, doesn't mean other people will. There are jobs out there that require degrees, that doesn't mean university is pointless. I'm taking a gap year and I am firm on my decision to study, I want to go, no one is forcing me.

Things are only pointless if you make them to be.
(edited 7 years ago)
You're an unemployed alcoholic except your parents are proud of you what's not to like
Reply 3
Are you a motivational speaker?!

I'm a mature student going to uni this year, thanks for telling me! I didn't know it was going to be a waste of time. I should probably withdraw my application...

But unfortunately we do need doctors and nurses and dentists and architects and vets and pilots that do need to go to university. We also need people to build websites and forums like this one you're using, I have a feeling they went to uni as well.

But we also need plumbers and carpenters and electricians who don't need to go to university, but still need to study.

Does your opinion apply to mature students who go later in life? Are they wasting their time? I assume from what you said they haven't thought it through either and don't really want to go. I mean, the financial and social aspects are a big upheaval when you're older, so I doubt they really thought it about it to be honest.

If you're not happy with your life, then yes, change it. Now. Start today. But don't tar every single student with the same brush.
Reply 4
I think you're right for people who just go to university for the sake of it and pick a rubbish course/uni. But then you have those who genuinely want to study their field or someone who wants to make something of their life, and although their heart isn't in it their heart is in a good future so they stick it through.