The Student Room Group

Poppy's Year 11 Life

Hiya! My name's Poppy and I'm a year 11 student currently studying GCSEs.

I stumbled upon this website and was amazed by the number of bright and motivated students, all eager to share their tips and experiences. The sheer commitment and effort that some people put into this is astounding. Anyways, I thought I'd give it a go myself!

A little about me :smile:
As I said, I am a normal 16 year old girl, who wants to achieve great results at the end of the year (don't we all?), whilst also making the most of other opportunities available, hopefully without compromising my happiness and sanity!

I'm studying for:
English Language
English Literature
Maths
Further Maths
Additional Science
Further Additional Science
Geography
Design Technology ~ Resistant Materials
Computing
Music
French
I have already taken Film Studies and Core Science, achieving A*s in both :h:

So this year that is a total of 11 GCSEs, and 22 exams! Eek!
I would say I am definitely a conscientious student, and work hard to get results I am proud of. My brain is constantly in a battle of 'Am I working hard enough?Am I being productive enough? Am I working too hard?', which is something I am trying to improve on. I think this website and forums will help me to find the right balance, and help improve my confidence in myself and my abilities :colondollar:

Other than school? (Is there such a thing?)
I have noticed that there is a tendency for people to become so overwhelmed by the impending exams and coursework deadlines, that they sacrifice doing what they enjoy. This is really quite sad, as exams are not everything! We need to realise that at the end of the day, our mental health is just as, if not more important than the grades we receive. This isn't to say that we shouldn't work hard to get good grades, but that it is important to find a good balance.

This is something I am struggling to do at the moment and need to work on.