The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Original post by martimrgp
Hey guys, I'm new at the student room

I'm considering buying one of these 2 laptops for medical school.

Which laptop would suit me better?
(I'm planning to go to Oxford University I don't know if that helps).

Apple MacBook Pro 2017 15" 512GB
Microsoft Surface Pro 5

I definitely prefer MacBook and have been using my current one for around 4 years now. However, the irritating things is that since most schools use Windows, I usually have to export my powerpoints and word, etc since it runs on a different programme which means that my work ends up looking a bit weird
Reply 2
Original post by haj2244
I definitely prefer MacBook and have been using my current one for around 4 years now. However, the irritating things is that since most schools use Windows, I usually have to export my powerpoints and word, etc since it runs on a different programme which means that my work ends up looking a bit weird

but isn't there pwerpoint/word for mac?
Reply 3
There is an Apple version of it, which literally looks the same and has the same functions, except you would have to export your work (which isn't hard to do) if the person receiving it does not use Apple.
Reply 4

Yes there is. And you might get it free from Oxford's microsoft educational licence (idk).

Also I'd consider the smaller MBPR 13" - it's v portable.... I'm using one right now.

We also have a MS Surface 3 (not Pro) and I'm not convinced. The detachable keyboard isn't great although I understand the new one you are considering is an improvement.

Microsoft Surface Pro 5

Both are massively overkill, I've never known anyone who's been through a medicine degree needing any more than a basic laptop. If you want to spend more then that's fine, but neither of these machines are going to badly suited to the job.