The Student Room Group

I went from a 2:2 in first year to a first in final year. AMA

I studied finance, accounting and management (FAM) at Nottingham uni.

I got a 2:2 in my first year (55) and I'm graduating next month with a first (73) - feel free to ask me any questions. I will be starting my job at an investment bank next month.
(edited 6 years ago)
Original post by UoNAnonymous

I got a 2.2 in my first year (55) and I'm graduating next month with a first (73) - feel free to ask me any questions. I will be starting my job at an investment bank next month.

What was your secret?

How do you score highly in essays/coursework?
Original post by Kevin De Bruyne
What was your secret?

How do you score highly in essays/coursework?

I wish I had a secret to tell people but I don't really.

To score highly in coursework, I always consulted with my lecturers regularly. I don't think people do this enough. I spoke to my lecturers every week to go through my plans and rough drafts etc. Definitely improved my grade.
Well done on the massive improvement!

What tips do you have for othes wanting to make such a massive jump in grades?
Original post by Eternalflames
Well done on the massive improvement!

What tips do you have for othes wanting to make such a massive jump in grades?

Thank you.

I would recommend:
1. If you're going to attend lectures, ensure that you actually pay attention.
2. Consult with your lecturers for advice and help if you are struggling or just need someone to reassure you - no one knows the content and course better than them.
3. Keep up with the lecture content every week. Don't let this slide.
4. Start coursework/essays early. Don't leave it until last minute. Try to make a plan and break the question down.
5. Stay focused. Don't sacrifice doing well in an exam/essay just to drink with your friends... But still have a reasonable amount of fun.
Original post by UoNAnonymous