The Student Room Group

Spaniard pursuing Clinical Psychology route

Hi there! So I've been reading this forum for a while, and today finally decided to share my thoughts.

I am a 27 y.o. Spanish psychologist, who wants to pursue a professional career in the UK. I graduated in 2013 through the University of Seville as the top of my class, and tried to find Jobs in Psychology, unsuccesfully. So I kept studying two more master's degrees, in Health Psychology and Systemic Family Therapy, while working in non-related positions. The thing is, I am absolutely fed up with the scarce working opportunities, so I might as well take the leap and try a professional career in England, if Brexit allows me to.

I would like to become a Clinical Psychologist, since it's easier there than it is in Spain (not saying it's an easy path). Here, it's just an annual test, and only 1 out of 40 get to pass (100 of 4000 candidates), in UK the ratio is 1 out of 6, and if you don't get it, it's not like here, you haven't completely wasted your time (you can either go for low intensity therapy posts, senior support worker...). Even after getting the registration as Clinical Psychologist, in Spain is way harder to find suitable jobs.

So, if I get to improve my English skills (I only have the CAE now) and gain some experience there as a support worker (I'm not even thinking in AP posts), do you think I may have a real chance? Would I need to get a degree in the UK? How could I do some research in order to fulfill all the requirements? And lastly, do you think my academic achievements (being top of my class for example) would be recognized in job offers?

Thanks a lot!
Reply 1