The Student Room Group

Chances of admission with GPA lower than minimum?

Hello,

I am studying Mechanical Engineering in Germany and want to pursue a MPhil in Technology Policy in Cambridge (I will also apply for Engineering Technologies MPhil as an alternative).

Unfortunately I do not have the required (German) grade (1.3), but only a 1.6. I belong to the top 2% of my class though and also have a strong CV.

Can other qualifications (research experience, prestige level of undergraduate college, internships, awards, community service...) theoretically compensate for my GPA being worse than the minimum, or is this a cut-off requirement?
Reply 1
Original post by Horst
Hello,

I am studying Mechanical Engineering in Germany and want to pursue a MPhil in Technology Policy in Cambridge (I will also apply for Engineering Technologies MPhil as an alternative).

Unfortunately I do not have the required (German) grade (1.3), but only a 1.6. I belong to the top 2% of my class though and also have a strong CV.

Can other qualifications (research experience, prestige level of undergraduate college, internships, awards, community service...) theoretically compensate for my GPA being worse than the minimum, or is this a cut-off requirement?

You would need to ask the department really.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Original post by Horst

They will have an academic cut-off below which they aren't prepared to go, because they couldn't rely on students being able to keep up with the pace of the course. They can afford to run a course a few students short, because there will be other courses in the department that can take a few extra students to balance overall student numbers.

however, relevant experience like relevant internships, publications, quality of undergrad institution etc can all help. Community service and extra-curriculars aren't considered at all.