Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Balancing the creative and the academics of a-level Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hello!

So i'm not a complete stranger: My name is Eve, i love creative writing (and am determined to write a book one day), art, staying in on Friday nights, spending time with my friends, the colour yellow and vigorous overthinking!

This seems like a very daunting thing for me to do, always worried to put myself out there but it's my last year of formal education as i'm in year 13 and wanted to document my experience as something to (hopefully) look fondly back on.

I decided to start this blog to uncover some of the joys and struggles of balancing creative subjects with my academic subjects. Give my personal approach to dealing with this workload and the ways in which i'll be tackling revision, coursework and exams.

I am studying English Literature, Philosophy and Ethics and Art textiles and did Geography as an AS. Throughout school, I had always steered towards English as this was my strongest subject and one i related to most; but in the last two years, during my A-level time I have fallen in love with Art and textiles. While this is exciting, it's also very daunting, abandoning something i always thought i'd purse for a new found love and this is definitely something i'd really like to talk about in this blog to help anyone conflicted in their choices or anyone who's interested.

Regardless of grades i'm not going to university next year, but doing an art foundation course instead. I think (hope) this will help me confirm that textiles is what i really want to do and if i end up deciding it isn't anymore, i don't see it as a year wasted as i'd always regret not knowing if i didn't do it. From there i'm not sure which university i'd like to study at or which specific course, hence the year out to gain experience and decide!