The Student Room Group
North Campus, Birmingham City University
Birmingham City University
Birmingham
Visit website

Review about the Msc Video Game Development course.

I just received an offer from BCU and wanted to know how good the course is.

I also have offer from City, college of London and Abertay Dundee.

Also how good are the accommodations ?
Original post by Xobtik
I just received an offer from BCU and wanted to know how good the course is.

I also have offer from City, college of London and Abertay Dundee.

Also how good are the accommodations ?

I applied for MSc Enterprise Production & Design as a returning student, having completed a BA Hons in Interactive Entertainment Digital Art (now called BA (Hons) Video Game Digital Art). I know and respect the tutors a lot, and I knew they would be able to offer me the education, contacts and opportunities I need to do what I want to do (be an executive producer!)

Through my undergrad (and now postgrad) I've been a Student Ambassador, helping to answer questions about the course and the School of NTI, and I became the first ever NTI School Representative this year, helping students get their views across to the faculty. I also became Disabled Students Officer, which is great for leadership skills and being able to manage a heavy workload. It's a lot, but the skills I'm learning both through the course and via the extra curricular opportunities are essential to my career path, and give me lots of opportunities to network with a wide variety of people.

The MSc Video Game Development course is really well liked by the development students, it gives you a lot of opportunities to hone those team working skills and get real 'studio' style experience of making games. You work alongside artists, designers and producers to make games on a variety of devices, and it really prepares you for the working world.