The Student Room Group

Breaking confidentiality if a client has suicidal thoughts (under 16)

Hi everyone,

I need some advice for my assignment at University. I am studying clinical psychology, and I have a roleplay assignment coming up where we have to engage in therapeutic roleplay with an actor for 15 minutes.

We have been given a brief explaining the client we are meeting with is 15 years old, has suicidal ideation (thoughts regarding suicide) but denies having any plans or intent. She then regrets telling the therapist (me) and begs to keep it a secret. They are extremely worried about what their family will think and doesn't want them to worry.

My question is, do I break the confidentiality with the client as they are only 15 years old, tell their parents and possibly break the trust between me and the client which could ultimately ruin our therapeutic relationship and their chance to get better? Or, as they have no plan or intent, keep working with the client, not breaking confidentiality, and discuss with her GP, not her family.

I understand their are certain ethical requirements if there is a threat or risk that my client will harm themselves, however if there is no plan or intent does this still imply?

Thank you.
Reply 1
Original post by jessie313
Hi everyone,

I need some advice for my assignment at University. I am studying clinical psychology, and I have a roleplay assignment coming up where we have to engage in therapeutic roleplay with an actor for 15 minutes.

We have been given a brief explaining the client we are meeting with is 15 years old, has suicidal ideation (thoughts regarding suicide) but denies having any plans or intent. She then regrets telling the therapist (me) and begs to keep it a secret. They are extremely worried about what their family will think and doesn't want them to worry.