The Student Room Group

UKCAT and GAMSAT

Hi everybody,

I am a mature student (30) with a good 2:1 psychology degree thinking of applying to medicine. I have no A-levels in science, but I was always good at science in school and have been using the fabulous Khan Academy app to refresh my memory and learn more science. I did Access course before my psychology degree to obtain a similar level to A-level in maths and English, but unfortunately most and nearest medical schools (I.e. uni of Birmingham, Aston) don’t accept that I don’t have the necessary A-levels and GCSEs to apply. So, my nearest medical schools that I could apply for are uni of Warwick and uni of Nottingham (which are further from me but excellent all the same). One needs UKCAT and one needs GAMSAT, I am thinking of taking the exams next year to give me enough time to prepare.

I don’t work in paid roles but I do work in other volunteering roles such as a dementia carer and St Johns (which I recently found out Uni of Warwick won’t accept as experience so I’m crushed but hey ho), I also work in my sons school and I am a parent governor too. However, I have plenty of time to revise and read and practice writing essays in the GAMSAT way etc.

My first question is whether based on my circumstances anyone would believe I have enough time to be ready for the exams?

Secondly, and please don’t be too harsh, do you think I may have a chance of passing exams based on my psychological background whilst also having a deeper understanding of sociology (I did this for access course) and philosophy (I did this in degree) and concentrating on revising hard on my advanced sciences?

And thirdly, any tips would be greatly received.

Thank you
Reply 1
From my understanding, most medical courses are based off prior A-Level knoledge so that they can use it as foundations to further develop your mindset.
I would advise possibly equiring about any fastrack A-Level courses that are near you starting in september.