The Student Room Group

Can I get into top law firms with average grades from sixth form?

I am a BTEC Applied science student that is going to be studying law at Reading university. I am predicted to get DDM-DDD in my BTEC and have not got a great GCSE background. I was wondering if I would be able to work in a top law firm in the future if I got a high grade for example a First or high 2:1 in my degree and a high mark in my LPC?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Original post by ejz17
I am a BTEC Applied science student that is going to be studying law at Reading university. I am predicted to get DDM-DDD in my BTEC and have not got a great GCSE background. I was wondering if I would be able to work in a top law firm in the future if I got a high grade for example a First or high 2:1 in my degree and a high mark in my LPC?

possibly. but competition is strong.
Reply 2
Original post by mgi
possibly. but competition is strong.

Yh I was also wondering if I coupled high results in uni and LPC with a large involvment with extra curriculars would this such as societies and also work experience would this improve my chances in getting in at a top law firm?
Reply 3
Original post by ejz17
Yh I was also wondering if I coupled high results in uni and LPC with a large involvment with extra curriculars would this such as societies and also work experience would this improve my chances in getting in at a top law firm?

it definitely would not hurt, and would make your personal statement and your cv more interesting!
Reply 4
Original post by mgi
it definitely would not hurt, and would make your personal statement and your cv more interesting!

Also I wanted to ask if doing Law at Uni of Reading effect my chances of getting a job or is La at Uni of Reading not that great?
I might not focus on that too much. Maybe focus on what you can do at Reading to get the marks that you want. If you struggled at GCSE or school in general, you'll have to think about how to overcome that.