The Student Room Group

Managing Online Study

Hi guys

I am 33 year old female and considering going back to Uni. I want to study a Bachelors in Psychology either online or on campus.
For those of you who have studied online how do you manage working at the same time?

Look forward to hearing from you :smile:
Reply 1
Hello! 😊 I'm currently studying Psychology.

It's difficult BUT you just need to get into that routine and be strict with it. Online learning via the OU (open uni) I think would be far more felxiable than campus as you can work more at your own pace.

I study on campus but one thing I will say is that I didn't realise there was so much science and maths involved (biology and statistics) so as a mature student if you're not a natural in these areas - take into account any extra time you'll need to scope out further understanding. YouTube is my best friend!

I always make people aware of that because for me I do tend to spend a lot of extra time on those modules. Best of luck 🥰
Reply 2
Original post by jpcg9191
Hello! 😊 I'm currently studying Psychology.

It's difficult BUT you just need to get into that routine and be strict with it. Online learning via the OU (open uni) I think would be far more felxiable than campus as you can work more at your own pace.

I study on campus but one thing I will say is that I didn't realise there was so much science and maths involved (biology and statistics) so as a mature student if you're not a natural in these areas - take into account any extra time you'll need to scope out further understanding. YouTube is my best friend!

I always make people aware of that because for me I do tend to spend a lot of extra time on those modules. Best of luck 🥰

Thank you good to know as I am definitely am no maths pro 😂
I am swaying more towards campus as I could get maintenance loan meaning I can work part time and finish degree quicker than part time online route.
(edited 3 years ago)
Reply 3
Original post by Natsophie