The Student Room Group

"Am I too old?" - the story of a 40-something student

As my farewell to The Student Room after 4 years of being an extra-mature student, I wanted to share my story for everyone who asks "am I too old?" or "is it too late to change career?"

If you want to, and can afford to, then do it! We only have one life, so live your best one.

I'm 45 and have spent the last 4 years studying full-time for a BEng and an MSc. I got a 1st for my degree and barring any dissertation disasters, I should get a Distinction for my Masters. This was part of a complete career change for me, aiming to get into an industry I had no prior experience of and with a heavy emphasis on maths, a subject I used to intensely dislike and thought I was 'bad' at. Unfortunately, as recently as the 1990s, women were not encouraged into construction-related professions, so at that time I chose another path. I wish I had made the change years ago, but at least I have done it now when I still have 20+ years of work ahead before retirement.

I already have 2 degrees and a PGDip so I wasn't entitled to any funding for my undergraduate degree. I paid for it by selling my home and buying somewhere cheaper. Drastic? Maybe, but it will pay off in the long run and I am not leaving uni saddled with huge debts. I worked part-time throughout my studies.

Studying in your 40s is hard. My memory used to be photographic, but now I sometimes wonder where I left it (back in the 2000s, I think). Processing and understanding takes longer than it used to, and learning new tech takes more time and frustration than I would like it to. At times I have cried and the stress levels have rocketed, especially when multiple assignments have been due at the same time. So if you are returning to studying at a more 'advanced age' - allow yourself more time for everything. This means that there will be times when you see little of your friends and family, and times that you will be studying 7 days a week.