The Student Room Group

MSC Orthoptics - return to uni feasible after a long break from studying?

Hello, I'm thinking about applying for the MSC Orthoptics course at UCL. I have a Biology degree, but graduated 35 years ago, and I'm wondering whether I will have the skills to study at this level. Does anyone have any experience of this course (or a Masters in general)who could advise on how challenging it might be to return to uni after such a long break? There is quite a bit of learning through work experience and placements, which I'm hoping might make it more attainable than a purely academic course. Thanks
I just finished an MSc and so my two cents are that I think as long as you feel that you would be able to follow and keep up with the content of a postgraduate degree; by this I mean that how capable do you feel in research/research methods, following scientific journal papers and writing? What was your professional experience? Did you stay in a related field?

I think the best thing to do is really just look at the course website and get an understanding for what will be expected of you - it sounds like you've already done this since you mention the focus on work experience/placements that are part of the course, if this sounds like something you'll be capable of then I'm sure you'll be fine! I think the biggest challenge after such a long time out of formal education is just remembering what it's like to be an academic and especially with postgrad, the level of focus and detail can be a bit daunting.

On a semi-related note, I've just helped my mother apply to a master's program after spending 30+ years in finance so I can empathises with both your hesitancy and keenness.