The Student Room Group

I'm a year 13 student at LSA (London Screen Academy) AMA

Hi! I was very curious about LSA when I first wanted to apply and there was practically nothing online to help that curiosity.

I noticed that a lot of Year 12's also said that there was nowhere to get proper info about the true inner workings of LSA so I thought it'd a good idea to start this thread!

So feel free to drop down any questions you have <3 I'll start with some basic facts about LSA that I'll steal from the website!

- LSA is a free sixth-form academy for students who want to learn all the skills required for a career within the film + television industries.

FILM AND TELEVISION

-The LSA Film & TV curriculum provides students with a broad knowledge of the many skills and disciplines within the screen and creative industries. Our unique FTV curriculum has been developed with leading industry experts so that we can deliver a real-world relevant education that prepares student for higher education and working in the modern world. Our programme is project based and students spend two years exploring and developing in their chosen pathway, based on their interests and talents.

-LSA students study the UAL Level 3 Diploma/ Extended Diploma in Creative Practice; this qualification is equivalent to three A-Levels and requires students to spend 15 hours per week learning about Film + TV. Alongside pathway classes, students also take part in weekly Masterclasses and screenings.

- Students will explore the cultural and historical significance of film and television, learn to improve their communication skills, work constructively within a team, gain screen business knowledge and develop self-management skills. Throughout their time at LSA, all students are taught storytelling as an integral part of the creative process.