The Student Room Group

Muslim women in healthcare

Asalamu'alaykum wa rahmatul laahi wa barakahtu,
I am wanting to persue a career in the healthcare field and was wondering when wearing the uniform is it possible for me to size up to the point my figure is not shown?

and, what is it you do to make sure you are doing your job while also following Islams guidelines?
Sis of course it mist be okay. No one can say anything to you about sizing with clothes, it would be weird if they did since it isn’t anyone else’s problem what size you prefer to wear
Reply 2
In theatre/ward, you can cover up with an extra layer under your scrubs/uniform.
Most people do this regardless, since it can be a little chilly at times.

You’ll find healthcare as a whole to be very accommodating. If you’re concerned about patient interaction, I work in healthcare within engineering/science fields. Take a look at medical engineering and bioengineering, they write surgical procedures and are involved in the design of medical tools, devices, and equipment.

It’s often preferred for the flexible working hours and hybrid in office / from home working. It also pays just as well.

Some employers to research:
Medtronic, Johnson & Johnson MedTech, Stryker, Zimmer Biomet, GE Healthcare, Cardinal Health, Abbot, Philips, Siemens Healthineers.
(edited 12 months ago)
Reply 3
Original post by tandoori potatoe
Asalamu'alaykum wa rahmatul laahi wa barakahtu,
I am wanting to persue a career in the healthcare field and was wondering when wearing the uniform is it possible for me to size up to the point my figure is not shown?

and, what is it you do to make sure you are doing your job while also following Islams guidelines?

Welcome! NHS worker here, I have a lot of Muslim colleagues and it's absolutely possible for you to do a great job without compromising your religion.