The Student Room Group

Do degree based optional modules matter ?

I am currently in my second year studying Physics at UoN, and after graduation, I want to move to Japan, whether by pursuing a degree there or by working. To achieve this, I plan to take Japanese language courses during both the autumn and spring semesters.

However, taking two language courses means I won't be able to take any Physics courses, which is the main focus of my degree. Additionally, some of the year 3 Physics modules have prerequisites, including a specific year 2 Physics module called "Principles of Dynamics." Because of this, it appears that the "optional" module "Principles of Dynamics" is actually essential to take.

My proficiency in Japanese would be beginner level. Do I take the Japanese language modules or the modules on which my degree is actually about, and would this impact employibility in the future? (ie, do employers care about what modules i have taken in uni)
(edited 11 months ago)
Reply 1
Original post by Mr Saturn
I am currently in my second year studying Physics at UoN, and after graduation, I want to move to Japan, whether by pursuing a degree there or by working. To achieve this, I plan to take Japanese language courses during both the autumn and spring semesters.

However, taking two language courses means I won't be able to take any Physics courses, which is the main focus of my degree. Additionally, some of the year 3 Physics modules have prerequisites, including a specific year 2 Physics module called "Principles of Dynamics." Because of this, it appears that the "optional" module "Principles of Dynamics" is actually essential to take.

My proficiency in Japanese would be beginner level. Do I take the Japanese language modules or the modules on which my degree is actually about, and would this impact employibility in the future? (ie, do employers care about what modules i have taken in uni)