The Student Room Group

computer science at university

Hi, I am a year 11 student and I wish to have a career in computer science but I'm not sure which part of computer science I would like to do. (still working on it) However, my subjects i'm taking for A level are Maths, economics and BTEC IT. I'm wondering if anyone can help me confirm that taking a BTEC is equivalent to an A level as some uni's entry requirements are just A*AA and is taking BTEC IT worth it for going for a computer science degree at universities without doing a computer science course at A level. The school I currently go to doesn't offer any computer science courses (which is a shame) but is it still possible to get into high ranking Russel group universities with a BTEC possible?Thanks
I think uni don't put taking IT at A-Level level highly at all. They much prefer Maths, Further Maths, Physics,... (the science subjects) and some interests in coding in your personal statement (code camp, side projects, MOOC). On the paper, uni don't expect you know anything coding and most will teach you from scratch.

Can't answer if BTEC are equivalent to A Level though, I graduated a while ago.
Reply 2
Original post by pandaplayz8
Hi, I am a year 11 student and I wish to have a career in computer science but I'm not sure which part of computer science I would like to do. (still working on it) However, my subjects i'm taking for A level are Maths, economics and BTEC IT. I'm wondering if anyone can help me confirm that taking a BTEC is equivalent to an A level as some uni's entry requirements are just A*AA and is taking BTEC IT worth it for going for a computer science degree at universities without doing a computer science course at A level. The school I currently go to doesn't offer any computer science courses (which is a shame) but is it still possible to get into high ranking Russel group universities with a BTEC possible?Thanks