The Student Room Group

computer science degree without maths

is it possible to do well in computer science in university without doing maths in a level? I do computer science a level but not maths is it possible for someone who didn't do maths in a level get accepted for computer science or even do well at it?
Reply 1
Definitely. A level maths is far more than is required for a computer science degree. If you look at the modules on a University website, you will usually see that a maths module is mandatory, although the scope is limited (usually to set theory, probability and proof theorems). I completed my computer science degree without A level maths and didn't find the maths module too challenging. Good luck in your future studies.
Original post by DRIPDRIP9463
is it possible to do well in computer science in university without doing maths in a level? I do computer science a level but not maths is it possible for someone who didn't do maths in a level get accepted for computer science or even do well at it?

It depends on the university. Some will accept you without it but most top ones insist on A level Maths. Here is a list I prepared a couple of years ago. You will need to check this is still the case.

Computer Science without A Level Maths

Aberystwyth grade C or4 GCSE
Aston grade 4 GCSE
Cardiff grade 6 GCSE
East Anglia grade 5 GCSE. Accepts A level in Computing Science and other subjects
Keele grade 4 GCSE
Kent grade 4 GCSE
Lancaster grade 6 GCSE
Leeds grade 6 GCSE Accepts Computing
Liverpool grade 4 GCSE Accepts Computer science
Newcastle grade 6 GCSE
Nottingham grade 5 Accepts Computing
Queen Mary grade 5 Accepts Computer Science
Reading Maths, Physics or Computer Science grade 6
Royal Holloway grade 6 accepts CS, Maths or Physics
Sussex grade 6
Swansea grade 6 in Maths or Physics

Hi there!