The Student Room Group

Awaiting Dissertation results - can you give your dissertation experiences?

Hi,
I am currently awaiting my final year project results at leeds uni, and have been so worried! Does anyone else feel the same waiting for their dissertation results? How did everyone do if they have already received theirs? need something to make me less stressed ! I do English lit by the way
Hey there!

Firstly, I studied biomed so must be a very different experience hehe.

Tbh, I felt super scared but I found myself easy to get carried away with different things, especially since I had exams around the corner and my focus was there.
I will be honest and say that I don't think I gave it my ALL, but I just made sure to do what I had to do with reasonable time in hand and a support network to help me study more effectively.

I ended up somehow getting a first in my disso and one of the highest out of the 6 of us under our supervisor.

All i will say is - MANIFEST! Acknowledge the work you did and BREATHE - tell yourself you did amazing. Focus on your other priorities right now. What i do is tell myself - it is not the be all and end all.
I actually didn't do well in my A-levels and couldn't get into my dream uni so I talk from a place of extreme academic heartbreak and experience but things get better. It's all about the mindset.

Stay positive! and hopefully when you get that grade, it will be a very bright and golden one!

If not, who says success is defined by a grade:wink:

Good luck, you got this!
Original post by Anonymous
Hi,
I am currently awaiting my final year project results at leeds uni, and have been so worried! Does anyone else feel the same waiting for their dissertation results? How did everyone do if they have already received theirs? need something to make me less stressed ! I do English lit by the way