The Student Room Group

GDL or Senior Status LLB..? Help!

Hi everyone,

Ive never thought ill be back at TSR but here I am after 4years since my initial uni application.

I went to LSE and have a 2:1 degree in politics.

Going to LSE, Ive always thought investment banking and consulting would be my future career path.

However, going through a couple of internships I felt like the two fields just aren’t for me.

Recently law drew my attention and I am considering various paths to becoming a solicitor.

My main concern is whether I should pursue a GDL/PgDip or an accelerated bachelors degree in law.

The former is definitely cheaper and saves me time but I don’t like the fact that GDLs are diplomas and most of the providers of these courses are private educational institutions.

On the other hand, accelerated law degrees are expensive (especially because Im an international student) but they reward proper degrees and are offered by top unis like oxbridge, which I am aiming for.

Considering the success in my career as a solicitor, which one shall be a better option? And if pursuing a accelerated law degree is the way to go how high is my chance of getting into oxbridge law?

Thanks for reading through and honest opinions will be a huge help for me :smile:
80% of top firms use BPP or University of Law for the post grad professional exams. In theory under the new SQE system for solicitors you do not need a PGDL at all actually, just have to pass the SQE1 and 2 exams and have 2 years of training/TC/QWE. However firms sponsoring their future trainees tend to pay for the PGDL for those without an LLB. A lot of non law students do a lot of law things at unversity on their first degree and apply to vacations schemes and training contracts as the firms recruit years ahead. Those kinds of firms tend to pay for your PGDL and SQE so you might want to make applications in the hope a firm will pay for your next stage.