The Student Room Group

What could I major on based on my IB subjects?

I'm in my final year of IB and university applications are only months away, but I'm still not sure what to major in. Here are my subject selections:
- English A SL
- Indonesian A SL
- Math AI HL
- Computer Science HL
- Visual Arts SL
- Business Management HL

Here are the majors I'm considering:
- Computer Science
- Business Management
- Philosophy
- Theology
- Journalism

I took the subjects I thought I would like, but I realize now my passions are nonexistent. I was wondering if there are any safer majors that could land me a well-paying job. Any suggestions? Thank you!
Original post by amogsussy
I'm in my final year of IB and university applications are only months away, but I'm still not sure what to major in. Here are my subject selections:
- English A SL
- Indonesian A SL
- Math AI HL
- Computer Science HL
- Visual Arts SL
- Business Management HL

- Computer Science
- Business Management
- Philosophy
- Theology
- Journalism

I took the subjects I thought I would like, but I realize now my passions are nonexistent. I was wondering if there are any safer majors that could land me a well-paying job. Any suggestions? Thank you!

You ask, "if there are any safer majors" - "safer" in what sense? More likely to be accepted onto the course? More likely to enjoy the course? Less likely to drop-out? More likely to get a 1st or a 2:1? More likely to secure a job upon graduation? Something else?

No degree will definitely land you a well-paying job, and there are no degrees which will ensure that you definitely won't land a well-paying job. The idea that a degree is some sort of magic key which will open the door to a particular career is a myth.

Which of your IB subjects do you enjoy most? Which are you best at?
- English A SL
- Indonesian A SL
- Math AI HL
- Computer Science HL
- Visual Arts SL
- Business Management HL

- Computer Science
- Business Management
- Philosophy
- Theology
- Journalism