The Student Room Group

I regret my A levels and want to retake a year

Just finished Y12 doing Maths, Biology, and Spanish.
I hate spanish and want to drop it and pick up Physics and/or Chemistry as I want to study a science at uni but am unsure if I'm confident that I like biology enough to study it for another 3-4 years. This would involve me taking another year (if my college allows me).
I've always liked the sciences so I don't really know why I didn't choose better subjects.
Now I have to weigh up delaying my life by a year and putting myself at a social disadvantage or picking a degree/career I'm not confident I will enjoy (if my college allows me).
Hi @charlie.campbell,

I'm a second year chemistry student at Lancaster uni and I would just like to offer you some advice based on my experiences.

First of all, I want to say that it's completely normal to have uncertainties and doubts about your future path, especially at this stage when you've just finished Y12. It's great that you've identified your interests in the sciences, and it's never too late to make adjustments to your academic journey.

Considering your situation, let me share my experience as a second-year chemistry student who also redid one year at sixth form. I faced a similar dilemma when choosing my subjects, and I understand the stress of deciding between following your passion and ensuring you're on the right track for your future studies.

Now, concerning the possibility of taking another year at college to pick up Physics and/or Chemistry, it might seem like a delay in your life, but it's crucial to see the bigger picture. Taking an extra year to study the subjects you are genuinely interested in can be an investment in your future happiness and career satisfaction. It's better to make a well-informed decision now rather than feeling stuck in a degree/career you're not passionate about. Today, I am really glad I took the time to figure out which subjects I wanted to study further.