The Student Room Group

Applying to dentistry through biomedical science

Hello, I am currently at my final year of biomedical science degree and doing my UCAT exam to apply for dental school by October. I am currently reading a lot about people experiences and how are they finding it difficult and not receiving any offers even that they had a biomedical science degree. I am new to the field and I have only got two months to finish my application. I have spoken to some uni’s like Bristol and Newcastle and told them about my situation they said that I can apply through my current degree, but it’s still competitive. I am so nervous of what could happen if I get rejected. I have came long way for this. (The reason why I didn’t apply straight to dentistry because I couldn’t enter A levels as I came late to the UK, however I worked hard to achieve this goal and here I am). I really need advices of what I can do in terms of applying, graduate or undergraduate, and if not is there still ways I can fit through clearing please inform me ? Thank you
Graduate entry Medicine and Dentistry are quite possibly the most competitive courses in the UK - certainly the most competitive that I know of (saw a GEM programme once with a whopping competition ratio of 36 applicants per place :eek:). You ideally want to ace the UCAT and aim for a 1st in your degree (the requirement is a 2:1 and that ought to do but this is the sort of thing where you really do want to go above and beyond to maximise your chances!) but even then, there's a possibility that you might be rejected. And that's OK! If you have a look at people applying for graduate entry med/dent, you'll see a large proportion don't get in on their first attempt - it sucks, yes, but ultimately if you ask for feedback, improve and keep trying, you'll succeed. Still a good idea to have a plan on what to do if you need to take a gap year or two before getting into dentistry.