The Student Room Group

How do I develop my personality?

So a little bit of background. I'm in my second year of university and my whole life I've been a shy, introverted guy with social anxiety. When I came to uni and saw how social everyone else was I made it a mission to kill my social anxiety (not become a total extrovert but just become loose around people). I've made a lot of progress in the last and I'm proud of myself. I'm definitely less socially awkward now than I was a year ago.

One problem I'm having is that I have a very stoic, dull and boring personality. I almost feel like an NPC at times. I just don't have the ability to banter with people or be like a kid,loosen up and do stupid **** sometimes . It's quite frustrating because it's stopped me from bonding with people. I very rarely do crack a joke or say something funny and I'm so bad a bantering with people that the one comment I made will make my day and I'll go to bed thinking "I made that funny comment today and everyone laughed!".

Please suggest to me any ways I could just loosen up and have a more lively and fun personality?
Reply 1
I know how you feel. It is something im workin on myself. I watch alot of youtube videos on advice i can reccommend some. But i believe the best thing you can do is to do practical things, do the things your uncomfartable with until they become comfortable. Also get rid of that voice in your head filling you with doubt and just be authentic. I know its gonna be hard I still havent reached there yet.
(edited 7 months ago)
Reply 2
First of all, it's fantastic to hear about the progress you've made in overcoming social anxiety and becoming more comfortable around people. To develop a livelier personality and build on this achievement:

- Observe naturally lively people to learn how they interact and use humor.
- Incorporate playfulness into your interactions through light teasing, puns, or funny stories.