The Student Room Group

alevel subjects for medicine

i’m in yr12 and i’m doing bio chem and art but aiming for med
when i did my research to decide alevels most unis are ok with bio and chem only but my friend said that apparently they favour people who dio bio chem maths to those who don’t
because we’ve just started the course should i switch art out for maths? or stick with art?
the only reason i want to do art is because i think im more likely to get an A/A* in art compared to maths
i was a consistent 7 student at gcse for maths, i did get 9 in my acc gcse but still im not that confident. what should i do?
Original post by nia01207
when i did my research to decide alevels most unis are ok with bio and chem only but my friend said that apparently they favour people who dio bio chem maths to those who don’t
because we’ve just started the course should i switch art out for maths? or stick with art?
the only reason i want to do art is because i think im more likely to get an A/A* in art compared to maths
i was a consistent 7 student at gcse for maths, i did get 9 in my acc gcse but still im not that confident. what should i do?

Stick with art.
Reply 2
Unis will state their entry requirements for all degree subjects on their websites - they have to do this by law.
There are no secrets and no information that only special people know.
If they say 'must include...' or 'we prefer...' that is what they mean.

You will hear lots of 'I've been told that....' etc. Always do your own checking with each Uni and don't listen to 'But I've heard...' unless they can actually show you the proof from that Uni.

List of entry requirements for each UK Med School here - https://www.medschools.ac.uk/media/3060/uk-medical-school-entry-requirements-2024-entry.pdf
Reply 3
Your friend is wrong.