The Student Room Group

how does owning a property effect your student finance

Im currently an undergraduate looking to buy a small property. i would basically buy a property and rent it out so the mortgage would pay itself .Now i have heard that getting rental income from property could affect your student finance but if im not getting any of the money for myself is that still true. i really want to know if this is because im looking to do a postgraduate in medicine and probably would'nt be able to pay for my degree alone and don't know yet if i could get a job whilst doing my degree
would really appreciate some advice x
Reply 1
Original post by Dena567
Im currently an undergraduate looking to buy a small property. i would basically buy a property and rent it out so the mortgage would pay itself .Now i have heard that getting rental income from property could affect your student finance but if im not getting any of the money for myself is that still true. i really want to know if this is because im looking to do a postgraduate in medicine and probably would'nt be able to pay for my degree alone and don't know yet if i could get a job whilst doing my degree

I can't answer your question about whether this would affect your student finance -- I don't know the answer to that.

But there's a lot of responsibility in owning and letting a property.

You'll need to get a buy-to-let mortgage, which is likely to have a higher interest rate than an owner-occupier mortgage. You'll need to ensure that the rent you receive is enough to cover the mortgage cost. You need to take into account any time between tenants, when you'll be getting no rental income but still need to pay the mortgage. You'll need to be able to fund any repairs that become necessary. If your letting income together with any other income (like a job) exceeds the income tax threshold, then you'll be paying tax on top.
Reply 2
Original post by Dena567