The Student Room Group

Court summons

Hi all i have 1 issue to discuss. I am a full time student with non student joint tenant. As a full time student we are exempted from council tax if you are with non student joint tenant and only non student is liable for paying tax that's what i read on council tax website. Council tax gave 25% discount on our tax as well.. but the thing is the other non student person is not paying tax and we are end up with court summons. But why i received court summons when i am not supposed to pay . ?? What should i do? Can anyone help me with this?. Thankyou
Original post by Kaziiii
Hi all i have 1 issue to discuss. I am a full time student with non student joint tenant. As a full time student we are exempted from council tax if you are with non student joint tenant and only non student is liable for paying tax that's what i read on council tax website. Council tax gave 25% discount on our tax as well.. but the thing is the other non student person is not paying tax and we are end up with court summons. But why i received court summons when i am not supposed to pay . ?? What should i do? Can anyone help me with this?. Thankyou

You are quite right to say that as a full-time you are "disregarded" when it comes to council tax. This means that they don't include you when they count how many people are in the property, and it means that when they establish which of the occupants is responsible for paying this tax (which is a charge against the property), you are also not considered responsible.

You say "Council tax gave 25% discount on our tax", which means that either they think the property has only one occupant, or they know it has only one disregarded occupant. It also means someone has applied for that discount. What that you who applied? Or was that your joint tenant?